Tags

, , , , , , ,

Hopefully you did not mistake my topic for the title of ‘Finding Nemo’, the movie.  Take a closer look. It’s FINDING ME MO’, as in finding me more, or (for the grammarians) finding more of me.

Unless you have a perfect life, you’re probably seriously thinking about making some changes as 2012 is teasingly approaching, while 2011 slips into history. Around this time most people do. Whether they are goals, plans, or just things to accomplish, the one word that aptly describes this is – you guessed it – RESOLUTIONS. And they are all mostly geared toward becoming a better person and making the world a better place.

Over the years, I have gradually weaned myself off resolving to do things as the year begins because I haven’t been that successful at following through on them. Not doing this prevents any possible slip into a deep spiral of self-loathing and other forms of self-abuse.

In place of a New Year’s Resolution, I embark on a Continuous Journey of Finding myself and discovering the many facets of who I am and can become. I do this many times during the year, and 2012 will not be any different.

Here is what I plan to do, after reviewing things to be grateful for and bidding 2011 farewell.

The official first day of the year will include celebrating my birthday. Then I will continue on the journey of self-discovery.

Interestingly, most people will be finding themselves too. Whether through resolutions or something else, we all have that deep hunger to find ourselves. This usually sets us off on journeys in different directions like exploring new careers, changing geographic locations, picking up a new hobby, or finding that one person to travel life with. For some, it will be rebuilding out of the remnants of painful loss or failure.

No matter where you are on life’s path to becoming a better person, join me as we explore this salient point about self-discovery. This could be the only item on your resolution list.

LOOSE YOURSELF! That simple. Yes, loose yourself.

The only way to find yourself is to loose yourself. We never find ourselves focusing on ourselves. This is self-centeredness. Contrary to popular belief, we don’t need to find ourselves. Rather, we need to find something that transcends us in order to make life meaningful and fulfilling. It is not about you or I. Remember life is like a maze, we are all a part of this maze, and looking into the maze will never make sense. You and I will only get lost.

It is wise therefore to gaze into the face of the Creator of this maze we call life. He is the ONLY one who will give us meaning in purposeful living. He purposely designed this universe and every life that lives on earth has a purpose. Who better to go to in our quest to do life? Until then, you will just exist.

So why don’t you join me on this ‘finding’ journey. Let’s loose ourselves by pursuing the transcendent Designer of our lives. I encourage you share practical ways you plan to loose yourself in 2012. I will share your thoughts and mine in my next blog.

Wishing you a healthy and prosperous New Year!