Tags

, , ,

“Almighty God, have you heard of microwaves and toasters? They are the stuff that cut time in half. Please, speed things up”. And thus, completed my text-format prayer recently as I ‘waited on the Lord’. This was my 21st Century rendition of David’s prayer in Psalm 70. Not like I needed to remind the Eternal God, the author of time, what time meant to me. I just had this sense of urgency and somehow felt that I needed to invite the Alpha and Omega into a relevant postmodern conversation. I am sure there are a few folks out there who know what I mean, and probably have said. . . or texted this kind of prayer over and over again.

What a relief to know that I will not be accused of being trite and disrespectful by the Creator of the Universe. He made me, knows me and my thoughts about Him. Even my doubts, questions and uninformed prayers are not strange to Him. And yet allows me to talk with Him in a candid manner.

After my pre-pubescent tantrum of a prayer, I sobered up when I encountered reassurances like, “For [as] the heavens are higher than the earth, so are My ways higher than your ways, And My thoughts than your thoughts.”(Isaiah 55:9) And, “He has made everything beautiful in its time. Also He has put eternity in their hearts, except that no one can find out the work that God does from beginning to end. (Eccl 3:11). Yes, these scriptures and many others.

But I admit, even amidst these flowery quotations, I found myself identifying with characters like Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, Moses, Job, Peter, and even Jesus when he exclaimed “Eli, Eli, lama sabachthani?” So maybe I need to say another prayer reminding God about emails . . . . and who knows. . . . . . Direct Deposits!